Scuba Junkies – Kota Kinabalu

Owi, my dive guide for the day.

Owi, my dive guide for the day.

Due to our lack of plans in Kota Kinabalu I figured that diving would provide us with some entertainment. I decided to dive with Scuba Junkies after doing coming across them during the research for the Mabul part of the trip. Overall the staff was great. It was a mix of Malaysians, Australians, and a Canadian. The dive masters on our boat that day were Malaysian and one Canadian. They were all professional, personable, and knowledgeable.

Where we stopped for lunch. I can't sit on the beach without getting bored.

Where we stopped for lunch. I can’t sit on the beach without getting bored.

The diving however was mediocre because of the visibility. I mean it was really bad 5 meters max. This was obviously not the dives shops fault and managing a few divers underwater can be difficult. My group consisted of a Danish couple, and a Japanese man. There was a whole lot of flailing around underwater as my Japanese buddy seemed generally confused about how to use his BCD, the other fellow kept floating up as his partner was holding him to keep him from ascending. It was a mess. Our dive master was ahead of us and we got separated from him which is not a big deal. The protocol is to look around for one minute and then ascend. There was four of us together and not one person except me had listened to the directions he gave us before hand. It was a sloping reef and that the wall would be on our right side. Very simple and easy to navigate normally but with the visibility being 5 meters or less it was easy to get disorientated. I looked back at my group all heading different directions so I went towards them all and tapped their shoulders, motioning the follow me signal. We found Owi (pronounced ahwee) quickly.

Gopro photo. Poor visibility means horrible pictures.

Gopro photo. Poor visibility means horrible pictures.

We did three dives and they all had poor visibility and chilly water at 23C (compared to 28-30C in Mabul). Would I dive there again? No. But it was fun diving in poor visibility and not being able to see the surface.

On the way back to the hostel there was a Chinese Dragon show.

On the way back to the hostel there was a Chinese Dragon show.

scubajunkiedive-5

Leave a Reply

